Pathways to University

The Western Australian Universities' Foundation Program (WAUFP)

The WAUFP is an academic program designed for international students who do not have a strong English language background. Students can gain entry into one of the four Western Australian public universities upon the successful completion of the program and fulfilment of the university’s entry requirements.

Students must study at least 3 subjects as well as English Language and Australian Cultural Studies (ELACS). ELACS is the only compulsory subject. It increases the students’ knowledge and understanding of Australian society and culture and further develops their reading, writing, listening and speaking skills.

Success in ELACS means that a student has met the English language requirement necessary for university entrance in WA. WAUFP graduates have gained entry to leading universities in Australia and worldwide.

Course Code 094026A

  • Entry into the top public universities in Western Australia: The University of Western Australia, Murdoch University, Curtin University and Edith Cowan University.*
  • Enhanced focus on English language with modifications for English as an additional language/dialect (EaL/D) learners
  • Modified examination papers suited for EaL/D learners
  • Potential early entry to some universities

*On successful completion of WAUFP and fulfilment of university entry requirements.

Subjects offered for WAUFP are:

  • ELACS (double subject)
  • Psychology (ATAR)
  • Chemistry (ATAR)
  • Physics (ATAR)
  • Human Biology (ATAR)
  • Mathematics Methods (ATAR)
  • Mathematics Applications (ATAR)
  • Mathematics Specialist (ATAR)
  • Accounting and Finance (ATAR)
  • Business Management and Enterprise (ATAR)
 Note: Not all subjects are offered at ASC schools, please check with ASCI for details prior to admission. 

The Standard Program is a two-semester course, commencing in February.

The WAUFP is recognised by many leading Australian universities in other states. According to information provided by the WAUFP provider colleges, students have successfully enrolled at the following universities:

Western Australia

  • University of Western Australia
  • Curtin University
  • Murdoch University
  • Edith Cowan University


  • Bond University
  • Griffith University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • University of Central Queensland


  • Deakin University
  • La Trobe University
  • Monash University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • The University of Melbourne

South Australia

  • University of South Australia
  • University of Adelaide
  • Flinders University

Australian Capital Territory

  • Australian National University


  • University of Tasmania

Northern Territory

  • Charles Darwin University

New South Wales

  • Macquarie University
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Western Sydney
  • University of Wollongong

According to information provided by the WAUFP providers, students have enrolled in universities in the following countries

  • Austria
  • Canada
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America


Please check your universities requirements 

Students wishing to study at an interstate university should contact the university directly and check the admissions requirements. 
Information quoted from the Tertiary Institutions Service Centre (TISC)

For more information: